Numbers–what they say

Posted on Sep 19 2016 - 2:53pm by srikainkaryasriadmin

The Melakartha Ragams refer to the basic 72 Janaka (parent) ragams for all the infinite number of other
ragams in carnatic music. All of these ragams have seven notes saptaswara,that is that they have all seven swaras which are
Sa, Ree, Ga, Ma, Pa, Da, Ni, Sa.
The system is further divided into two sets of 36 ragams each. The first set with the first Ma and the second with a sharper Ma. this is very similar to the western concept of scales and with the circle of flats





maths-6melakartha-ragams-jpgze-large wp-image-709″ />

About the Author

Leave A Response